Dear Jim

4 Sep

 

This time last year I was wide awake, couldn’t sleep, worse than any kid at Christmas.  We would be getting married in just a few hours.  There were a million things left to do but I wasn’t stressed like I (and all of my friends) thought I would be.  All the details we had been working on seemed to melt away.  I was just so excited to see you, tell our friends and family how much I loved you.

 

We went back and forth for weeks about if we would see each other before the wedding.  Our decision to spend the day together was the thing that kept me so calm.  Getting to see you with everyone who worked so hard to help pull things together, I’ve never felt so loved and supported.  The day turned out beautifully, with blue skies and perfect weather.  It was a whirlwind that all flew by too fast.  I remember holding your hand too tightly and staring at your shoes.  I buried my hand in my pocket and was so glad that I had remembered a handkerchief.  We both laughed and cried and pulled a lot of goofy faces.  When I finally managed to look up and saw your giant grin I could breathe again and when we promised to always respect and support each other will always be crystal clear in my memory.

 

This first year has brought a lot of things that neither of us expected, but we’ve made it through together and I know that no matter what comes next we’ll be able to handle it.  So thank you for being my best friend.

 

Photo by Andy Kahl


 

 

 

Leave a Reply

