the most wonderful time of the year

2 Feb

No, I don’t mean Christmas.  I mean February!!  Full on winter weather, Groundhog Day, Valentines Day & even better…my birthday!  It sounds terrible I’m sure but I promise I’m not one of those people who requires a week of celebration, fancy dates, big parties or any of that.  In fact as long as there’s something a little sweet I didn’t need to make myself then it’s perfect.

Last year was a little tricky.  Pittsburgh was in the middle of a blizzard so I while J. and I were completely snowed in.  And while it had it’s moments it had been a couple days already and we were running out of groceries had a new puppy trapped with us who didn’t know what to do with several feet of snow.  We ate cheese and crackers for dinner and I baked myself birthday pretzels.  This year will hopefully be better.

And since we kept Christmas a bit on the modest side this year, I have a few things still hanging out on my wish list that I thought I’d share.

orla kiely bag - not that i need another bag but ive wanted an orla kiely bag for ages & this would be great to get to work & its on sale

J. has given me a necklace for almost every major holiday since we’ve been together.  Unfortunately I always manage to break them so I have several awaiting repair.  Maybe  I could wear one of these while I’m fixing the others.

From Homako on Etsy - in the Pink Lemonade - soooo good.

And finally – one of the few major things left that my kitchen is missing – a dutch oven

The Staub 6 Quart in Graphite or Royal Blue

Regardless of whether there’s any presents or dinner or even *gasp* cake – I’m sure it’s going to be a great birthday and and even better year.

Leave a Reply

